Connect with us

Breaking News

Breaking: INEC declares Emeka Ihedioha winner of Imo governorship election



Breaking: INEC declares Emeka Ihedioha winner of Imo governorship election

Breaking: INEC declares Emeka Ihedioha winner of Imo governorship election.

From Owerri-The state returning officer, for the Saturday’s governorship election in Imo state, Mr. Francis Chukwuemeka Otonta, Monday announced the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Emeka Ihedioha, winner of the Imo governorship election.

Our reporters were at the INEC, office along Port Harcourt road at about 11:40pm when Otonta announced the votes earned by the various political parties across the 27 local government areas.

According to the state Returning Officer, while giving the summary of the exercise as it happened in the 27 local government areas in the state, said that Ihedioha of the PDP, won the election with the total votes of 273,404 to humble other candidates in the race.

ALSO READ THIS:  Nollywood veteran actor, Kanayo O Kanayo begs Imo people to remove Rochas, Son-inlaw from power

He said the number of registered voters was 2,221,008 and accredited voters 823,743. The total votes cast; 714,355, rejected votes; 251,30; and then the total votes according to Otonta, was 739,485.

Ihedioha brushed aside the stiff challenges mounted by Uche Nwosu, the son-in-law of the incumbent governor, Rochas Okoroacha, to clinch the victory. Nwosu finished in the second position in the contest.

According to the state Returning Officer, Professor Francis Otunta, Vice-Chancellor, Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia State, in a declaration made Monday night, Nwosu of the Action Alliance (AA), polled a total of 190,364 votes.

The governorship candidate of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) Ifeanyi Ararume, placed third in the election, scoring 114,676, with All Progressives Congress (APC)’s Hope Uzodinma finishing in the fourth position with 96,458 votes.

ALSO READ THIS:  Kemela Okara has been decorated as PDP Youth Alliance Bayelsa State Chapter Ambassador

Ihedioha was victorious in 11 of Imo’s 27 local government areas; Nwosu won in 10, Ararume in four while Uzodinma took the rest three

Facebook Comments

Most Read