Latest News

Buhari led administration to prosecute Senate President

Bukola Saraki who has been in and out of the Code of Conduct Tribunal since 2015 and will now face another corruption charge

The President Muhammadu Buhari led Federal Government is set fill fraud charges against some former governors before the end of October, Punch newspaper is reporting.

According to the report, FG through the newly set up National Prosecution Coordination Committee will prosecute Senate President Bukola Saraki( Kwara); Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom); and a factional Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff (Borno State).

Recall that that the AGF,  Abubakar Malami, had written to both the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission and the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission, calling for the duplicate files of the alleged corruption cases involving some named 31 ex-governors.

A source quoted in the report said; “You will recall that before the NPCC began work, the AGF had written to the EFCC and ICPC, asking them to remit the duplicate files of 31 ex-governors and some other politically-exposed persons to his office.

“While the anti-corruption agencies had yet to respond, the AGF again asked the various agencies with prosecutorial powers, including the ICPC and the EFCC, to compile and remit the duplicate files of all high profile cases they had to the NPCC.

“I can tell you that the agencies have responded to the AGF’s directive and the NPCC is now reviewing the files.”

Another source, a top member of the NPCC said the preliminary issues would be completed soon and the Federal Government’s special teams of prosecutors would start filing charges against some of the ex-governors.

Other former governors include Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia); Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu); Saminu Turaki (Jigawa); Sule Lamido (Jigawa); Joshua Dariye (Plateau); Ahmed Yerima (Zamfara); Gabriel Suswam (Benue); Martin Elechi (Ebonyi); Danjuma Goje (Gombe) and Murtala Nyako (Adamawa).

They also include Ikedi Ohakim (Imo); Achike Udenwa (Imo); Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa); Gbenga Daniel (Ogun); Jolly Nyame (Taraba); Boni Haruna (Adamawa); George Akume (Benue); Rashidi Ladoja (Oyo); Attahiru Bafarawa (Sokoto) and Adebayo Alao-Akala (Oyo).

Others are Usman Dakingari (Kebbi); Adamu Mu’azu (Bauchi); Peter Odili (Rivers), and Lucky Igbindedion (Edo).

Among the ex-governors, only Udenwa, Mu’azu, Dakingari, Sheriff, Akume, Elechi and Akpabio have never been charged by any of the anti-corruption agencies.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button